IFSI Affiliates

The following faculty members are affiliates of International Food Security at Illinois (IFSI). Please click on the affliates name to access their IFSI Research Brief.

Juan Andrade
Assistant Professor, Food Science and Human Nutrition
Food and nutrition innovation; diagnosing micronutrient deficiencies within low-income countries

jandrade@illinois.edu

Mary Arends-Kuenning
Associate Professor, Agricultural and Consumer Economics
Postharvest loss among smallholders in Brazil; food security at the household level

marends@illinois.edu

Thomas J. Bassett
Professor Emeritus, Geography and GIS
Longitudinal study of smallholder farming systems with emphasis on the political economy of agrarian change; agricultural history; food crops, cash crops (cotton, cashews), and food security; land tenure reform, land use and land cover change, and political ecology of environmental change

bassett@illinois.edu

Kathy Baylis
Associate Professor, Agricultural and Consumer Economics
Effects of conservation policy and land use on household and environmental outcomes and food security

baylis@illinois.edu

Martin O. Bohn
Associate Professor, Crop Sciences
Developing improved maize germplasm that contributes to an economically efficient and sustainable production under restricted growing conditions

mbohn@illinois.edu

Tami Bond
Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Global mapping of household energy solutions

yark@illinois.edu

David Bullock
Professor, Agricultural and Consumer Economics
Using Precision Technology in On-farm Field Trials to Enable Data-Intensive Fertilizer Management

dsbulloc@illinois.edu

Richard Cooke
Professor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Rainfall harvesting and increasing water use efficiency

rcooke@illinois.edu

Hao Feng
Professor, Food Science and Human Nutrition
Food preservation technologies, including drying/dehydration, to reduce postharvest losses; postharvest food safety intervention technologies

haofeng@illinois.edu

Tim Garrow
Professor Emeritus, Food Science and Human Nutrition
Nutrition, specifically Folate, vitamin B12, and one-carbon metabolism; homocysteine and methionine metabolism; nutrient and hormonal regulation of gene expression; chemistry of methyltransferases

tagarrow@illinois.edu

Richard Gates
Professor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering.
Controlled environment engineering; feed conversion efficiency; measurement of post-harvest losses

rsgates@illinois.edu

Angela Green
Assistant Professor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Sustainability of production systems for animal products; animal welfare

angelag@illinois.edu

Tony Grift
Associate Professor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Directed automation of phenotyping for accelerated crop breeding

grift@illinois.edu

Kaiyu Guan
Assistant Professor, Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences
Using satellite data and crop models to understand how climate variability and climate change affect regional crop productivity and food security

kaiyug@illinois.edu

Bryan Endres
Associate Professor, Agricultural and Consumer Economics
Legal dimensions of food production and marketing

bendres@illinois.edu

Steven Huber
Professor, Plant Biology and Crop Sciences
Signaling and metabolic pathways that impact plant growth and development
schuber1@illinois.edu

Jack Juvik
Professor, Crop Sciences
Breeding vegetables with enhanced nutritional quality and health promotion
juvik@illinois.edu

Mindy Mallory
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Programs, Agricultural and Consumer Economics
Studying incentives for marketing efforts and storage and postharvest losses due to physical storage problems
mallorym@illinois.edu

Hope Michelson
Assistant Professor, Agricultural and Consumer Economics
The relationship among agricultural production, poverty, and the environment in the developing world.
hopecm@illinois.edu

Gay Miller
Professor, Veterinary Medicine, Adjunct Professor, Agricultural and Consumer Economics
Nexus of epidemiology and economics
gymiller@illinois.edu

Austen Moore
Post Doctoral Fellow, Agricultural and Consumer Economics
Rebuilding extension systems in post-conflict setttings
acmoore@illinois.edu

Scott Morris
Associate Professor, Food Science and Human Nutrition and Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Packaging; food engineering; distribution and logistics; data systems
smorris@illinois.edu

Sharon Nickols-Richardson
Professor and Head, Food Science and Human Nutrition
Obesity prevention and body weight regulation across the life span
nickrich@illinois.edu

Jim Pettigrew
Professor Emeritus, Animal Sciences
Strengthening food production and improving production efficiency in Latin America
jepettig@illinois.edu

Barry Robert Pittendrigh
Professor, Entomology
Developing pest control strategies to minimize pest damage in the cowpea crop
pittendr@illinois.edu

Kent Rausch
Associate Professor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Reducing postharvest losses
krausch@illinois.edu

Erik Sacks
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Programs, Crop Sciences
Rice genetics and breeding, especially introgression of genes from wild relatives of domesticated Asian rice; development of perennial grain crops to reduce inputs required for farmers to obtain sustainable production
esacks@illinois.edu

Hans H. Stein
Professor, Animal Sciences
Determining digestibility of food ingredients
hstein@illinois.edu

Margarita Teran-Garcia
Assistant Professor, Food Science and Human Nutrition
Biological (nutrition-related) outcomes on individuals that have food insecurity; how extension programs contribute to decrease post-harvest lost and better distribution of commodities to minorities and population groups at risk
teranmd@illinois.edu

Matthew B. Wheeler
Professor, Animal Sciences
Developing tropical adapted dairy animals
mbwheele@illinois.edu